Yikes!

I just read a brief news story about Tonya Harding, of knee whacking fame. Apparently she is pregnant. Am I the only one that is a bit worried about how she might respond to becoming a parent? I have visions of possible future headlines, such as The Soccer Mom From Hell (somehow the entire opposing team had “accidents” making them unable to play). One hopes that all goes well, but history shows that such optimism is likely to lead to disappointment. It occurs to me that this paragraph may annoy Tonya and could lead to old urges returning to her. Sorry, Tonya, I’m already in a wheelchair.

Imagine my surprise a few days later when I came across another article about Mark Kerrigan, brother of Nancy Kerrigan. It seems that the police believe that Mark may be guilty of manslaughter. Mark and Nancy’s father, Daniel, died. That, at least, both police and Kerrigans agree on. The Kerrigan family says the death was due to a longstanding heart condition. Mark’s lawyer also says that police improperly interrogated Mark. My condolences go out to the Kerrigan family on the death of Daniel. However, I am beginning to wonder if this is something like The Revenge of Has-Been Figure Skaters. Okay, Nancy wasn’t at fault for the Kerrigans being in the news, but it wouldn’t be anything but local news if it wasn’t for her. Now I’m going to sit back and wait for a stories related to Jeff Gillooly, Shawn Eckardt , Derrick Smith , and Shane Stant (I know, they’re not figure skaters, but they were involved in the whole Tonya v. Nancy thing back in the day).

Leave a comment

Filed under Nobody

Leave a Reply

