Better Friends

I was going to write a whole bunch of thoughts that had been swimming around in my head about friendship and what it means to be a good friend and how I hope to be a better one. But then something happened and I realized that though my thoughts were valid something more to the point was in order.

 “The beginning of love is to let those we love be perfectly themselves, and not twist them to fit our own image. Otherwise we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them.”- Thomas Merton

 John 15:12-13

My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

 “It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them.’ –Ralph Waldo Emerson

 “Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: ‘What! You, too? Thought I was the only one.'” –C.S. Lewis

 “If we would build on a sure foundation in friendship, we must love friends for their sake rather than for our own.” –Charlotte Bronte

 Hopefully someday I will write a brilliant post on what it means to be a good friend and what I intend to do to be a better one. In the interim, perhaps you might try something: write someone you consider a friend a letter. A real one- not an e-mail. Find nice paper or a card they would like and then mail it. I promise I don’t work for the postal service and they didn’t put me up to it. I just know that sometimes getting a letter or note in the mail can make any day a little better. It tells someone they are special even when you write very little and write about inconsequential things. RAWR!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

