Changes and Moves

I have to say, right now is a really weird time. Some things going on I would really prefer weren’t happening. Other things I am so excited about I could burst. It is just weird.

 First: the not so fun. Matt is leaving again. He has to finish up the last of his training so he will be doing Air Force-y things for the next 5 weeks. I keep telling myself at least it is only 5 weeks. Ask me Monday after his flight leaves how that is working out for me. Our house still hasn’t sold yet either, meaning that when he returns from his training he faces a somewhat ridiculous commute to the Air Force base he will be stationed at. In fact, our contract with the realtor expired. We attempted to get a new one before Matt left, not one of the realtors we called has called us back. It is one of those things that just makes me say, “Really!?” in a particularly incredulous tone. My coworkers hear it all the time.

 Since I don’t want to be sad all day, let’s move on to happier things. Note: these happenings are not without their fair share of drama. I felt like I was trying to manage an entire herd of drama llamas this week.

 I am moving my horses to new barns. Note the plural. Vanya, the geezer, is going to a beautiful place in the trees, with small arenas, but excellent care. In fact, I think they have the most beautiful hay I have seen since I came to Colorado (I used to live in Vermont- they know how to make good hay; Colorado….not so much). When I saw it for the first time I hadn’t had dinner yet and was about ready to try it myself- it was that good. It is clean, quiet, and it just felt like the right place for him. They offer the services he needs at a price I can afford. Score one for the good guys.

 Strider is going to my trainer’s barn. It will be a bit of a commute for me, but I am super excited to get more lessons from her and to have Strider get some training rides. I really want to get both Strider and I going really solidly at First level and right now I think Strider is ahead of me. I suppose that is good but it is easier when I am ahead of him I think. I also work really well with this trainer as she really seems to understand me and is able to help me not turn into a wad of type A, perfectionist tension ten minutes into my ride. I am really looking forward to riding and training in preparation for next show season. So, another very exciting, happy event.

 Strider is getting yet another type of shoeing. My farrier noticed the angles in his hind feet aren’t looking right and he wants to get them corrected before they cause problems. I love my farrier. He does a great job of preventing issues and addressing the ones we already had. Strider is getting some pretty fancy shoes though. One of these days I should post a picture.

I am still trucking along for the most part. Since Matt has been home I haven’t really been able to run, unfortunately, but other than that have been ok. I got sick before he came home, and it took me ages to recover enough energy to run. This week I have had the energy, but not the time. I did get a good swim in though. I also think I may have found a set of reins that will work for me and be legal for dressage competitions without a dispensation thanks to an amazing helpful person. I now proudly sport big, fat, round, rope reins on my dressage bridle. We look very Wenglish. I hope I can find some purple cotton rope soon to use for schooling; after all, I need more purple tack! Right now I just have black nylon but they have proven much easier to hold than anything else I have tried. Matt does have to make them as actual Western rope reins are not long enough, but they are not hard to make at all thankfully. The hardest part is sourcing the rope. Fat cotton rope is actually harder to find than I had expected but it is not impossible.

 So, life goes one. I have been knitting bunches, riding bunches, and enjoying having Matt home. Moving the horses marks the beginning of an exciting new time for us though in a variety of areas, and hopefully will be smoother sailing.

Until next time….RAWR!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Changes and Moves

  1. Hi there,

    So glad I found your site – a fellow rider 🙂 and RA person 😦

    (Although I have to tell you, I haven’t ridden since my diagnosis (long story)…)

    Looking forward to reading all your posts!

    🙂 Laurie

    • rawrvmd

      Hi Laurie!
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      I can understand not riding- I actually could barely get on my old guy (Vanya) for about two years while I was being diagnosed and after. I am blessed to be riding again even if it is different than it used to be.
      Please feel free to let me know if there is anythign you want to hear more about- I am trying to improve and make things better (I know posting more often would be good lol).
      Thanks again for stopping by,
      Best Wishes,
      Valeska

Leave a Reply

